健康人在一个健康的环境

信仰社区健康计划

Healthy concept, Spirit, Body and Mind

前三名的健康问题的大多数教派别为:高血压、肥胖/重量控制(不健康的饮食/没有身体活动)和糖尿病。 前三名的壁垒大多数教会报告说,他们的教区居民面临在实现最佳的健康是:缺乏知识,缺乏激励和支持,并缺乏时间。

HCHD收到大约144预先调查之间的五个教会。 大多数答复者似乎具有良好的营养知识和利益的体育活动,但只有约四分之一是作为身体活动作为他们想吃的健康的,因为他们会喜欢的。

每个圣会提交了行动计划基于数据的获得健康检查,他们主办的,如果适用的话,他们的需求评估来选择适当的编程为他们的教会/基于信仰的组织。 例如,在道的恩典礼拜中心,在埃奇伍德,MD,至少有五个参与者被认为有很高的血压在筛选期间会议。 因此,小授予执行小组带来了一个护士大学MD上切萨皮克远盟康健,提供一个学习届会议上高血压和心脏病。

一个筛查会议在日2015年。 尽管投票率不高,因为这个教会想要的,他们很高兴与信息自己和他们的教区居民能够从中获益的筛选。 这并帮助他们规划自己的小型赠款方案编制。 例的活动侧重于营养和体育活动的开展赠款接受机构如下所列。

Faith Grant 3Faith Grant 2

参与组织

Faith Grant在哈福德县保健部门与信仰的领导人启动一个信仰社区保健方案对于支持地方团体/基于信仰的组织来促进改善健康的行为和结果在哈福德县。 本地教/信仰组织有机会申请小额赠款,用于发起和发展健康部门,以改善营养、身体活动和整体健康的社区。 资金是从马里兰州的癌症基金会的马里兰州卫生部和精神卫生,这是旨在预防癌症的社区中通过促进健康的生活方式。

下列组织将参加在信仰社区保健方案和收到的小型赠款基金,以支持他们的健康改善的努力。 点击组织名下阅读的摘要关于他们的每一个拟议的项目。 这些摘要将不断得到更新,作为取得进展,在他们努力在整个一年,因此继续检查!

Ames联合卫理公会教堂

保存的保护区:增加的健康和保健部门

Ames联合卫理公会教堂在Bel Air创建了一个工具包,以指导教会在建立健康和保健部门为他们的教会。 迄今为止,3的10个教堂的目标已经提出的与节约的保护区项目,并已开始实施卫生和福利部。 Ames计划,以维持该省的保护区项目通过扩大该项目的其他教会提供的初步介绍和帮助发展健康和福利部。 教会之后,将定期沟通和援助在处理挑战的任何教会可能会面临在任何时间。

使徒教会的声音真相

"整个"家庭

使徒教会的声音真理在埃奇伍德托管的一个信息系列,每周二通过的七月和八月,为家庭的活动,如运动课程(尊和瑜伽),营养提供食品样品和儿童活动,和预防癌症的介绍。

道恩典礼拜中心

保健事项:P=3祈祷,赞扬,并准备

道恩典礼拜中心,在埃奇伍德主持两周一次的会议,包括会议上为什么你的健康问题、营养研讨会,题为"我的饮食和我",旅游市场的食品的狮子,而一个"知道你的号码"的研讨会与一名护士。 在2016年的春天,该中心赞助了一个工作出5K步行6周至Y、随后通过参与行为无家可归月21日和健康的饮食呈现给予以下的一天。

极端的家庭外联

转换站

极端的家庭的外展,工作在3个地点,进行了为期4周的计划侧重于儿童健康的习惯,在一个年轻的年龄,侧重于简单的改变,以改善营养。

内县的外联

孩子上去健康的饮食节目

内县的外联,在阿伯丁、MD主办的一个夏天营地的儿童在2015年,包括7个星期的活动,包括游和户外玩耍的时间。 营地还有一个菜园。 儿童参加了在种植和照顾花园和吃的食物在花园里。

 

爱奖学金基督教中心

获得合适的俱乐部

爱奖学金基督教中心在Bel Air赞助的一些活动:

  • 最大的失败者比赛轮我
  • 土耳其一路小跑5K跑步
  • 社区保健公平1/16/16
  • 四月30日,家庭英里的路程和5K运行在俄勒冈州的脊公园
  • 最大的失败者第二次会议
  • 周六的家庭娱乐走–柏莱恩公园
  • 孩子们的健身的挑战

圣詹姆斯*A.M.E.教堂

F.A.N.–旅程继续

詹姆斯教堂继续他们的粉丝(信仰、活动和营养)的程序,通过提供健康的食物选择在其年度教会野餐,引入更多的移动每周的服务。 下一个星期三的圣经学习的一名代表在美国心脏协会特色的健康的开始厨房,这表明方式准备心脏健康的膳食。 圣詹姆斯还免费提供1个月的星球的健身会员资格,参与者。

圣玛格丽特的教区

身体、思想、精神讨论会

圣玛格丽特举办了6部分"口味的健康"系列在二月和三月2016年,以鼓励身体、心理和精神福祉,其成员。 平均有190名成员出席了每星期的讨论及的主题包括:

  • 行使灵活性和平衡
  • 营养:健康食品的替换
  • 冥想和祈祷
  • 情绪健康
  • 利用你的才能
  • 智能设定目标。

圣保罗*路德教会

健康生活和神圣的

保罗*路德教会在阿伯丁实现的神圣的生活和健康系列,这是根据周围的小组讨论"的丹尼尔计划",每周一次的"零食和研究",一个"最大输家"的竞赛,走俱乐部和免费书籍、计步器和其他材料,为参与者。 这个程序被刊登的一篇文章中,在巴尔的摩太阳(http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/maryland/harford/aberdeen-havre-de-grace/ph-ag-church-health-series-0106-20160107-story.html条)。

字信仰的国际外联

家庭适合王国

字信仰的阿伯丁、MD-基于健康计划围绕忠实的家庭课程,从北卡罗来纳州。 他们主持的会议,每星期一开始在2015年十月通过日2015年。 会议开始,与一个20分钟的营养教训(从采购到准备)以及有营养的食物的样品并随后的30分钟的运动。

会议的材料

基于证据的程序

  • Faith Activity Nutrition FAN信仰、活动和营养(电风扇)的程序计划旨在提高健康饮食和体育活动的非洲卫理公会圣公会(AME)教会的成员,但信息和工具可以协助任何教派在促进健康的行为和环境。 风扇的目的是创造一个更健康的教会机构,那里的大多数成员看到和听到的卫生信息,鼓励健康的生活方式的选择。 完整的在线电风扇委员会的培训和风扇的厨师培训提供在文本和自定进度的培训模块。
  • 身体和灵魂: 保健方案发展为非洲裔美国人教会。 该计划鼓励教会的成员来吃健康的饮食习惯丰富的水果和蔬菜每天更好 Body and Soul健康。 身体和灵魂是建立在四个方案支柱:
    • 牧师参与
    • 教堂活动,促进健康饮食
    • 教堂的环境,促进健康饮食
    • 同侪咨询辅导,促使教会的成员来吃健康的饮食
  • Faithful Families忠实的家庭吃聪明的动更多:促进健康饮食和体育活动在社区的信心通过教学的9届会议的课程共教的营养和体育教育教育工作者以及放的领导人。 鼓励执行基于研究的政策、程序和环境的变化。
  • 社区保健资源信息服务(克里斯):基于信仰的倡议,开始与一概念吸取的强烈联系在基于信仰的社区改善获得保健信息,特别是健康问题的不成比例地影响到少数族裔,并鼓励健康的行为。

卫生部资源

  • 教区护理提供的信息有关的信仰社区护理(以前称为教区护理)包括提供课程、资源、新闻等等。
  • 教堂健康的读者:发表了通过教会医疗中心在田纳西州孟菲斯市、教会卫生的阅读器,鼓励和配备信仰的人创造和维持的基督教卫生部、愈合和整体性。 所有资源上的这个网站是组织周围的模型,用于健康的生活。

公共卫生资源

  • Nutrition.gov提供简单、在线访问,以审查食物和营养的信息,从整个联邦政府。 作为一个网关,可靠的信息,在营养、健康的饮食、身体活动和食品安全的消费者。
  • CHOPCHOP杂志提供营养美味的、多样化和廉价的食谱,鼓励家庭做饭吃在一起。 食谱是旨在教授基本的烹饪技能和开发一套良好的餐你就会知道如何做。
  • Healthfinder.gov提供的最新、最可靠的资源在一个广泛的健康主题的选定从1 400名政府和非营利组织,这将有助于你和那些你所关心保持健康。
  • MillionHearts:百万心是一个国家的倡议,看起来重点,协调和加强心血管疾病预防活动。 一些健康的饮食资源提供了在其网站上包括心脏健康的食谱,容易餐计划,鼓舞人心的文章,提供思路对心脏健康的生活。
  • 马里兰州卫生连接医疗援助: 这个链接,提供关于医疗保险计划,包括马里兰州儿童保健方案(MCHP),马里兰州儿童健康的优质节目,提供医疗援助的家庭和医疗援助,对于成年人。 如果你有任何问题有关的医疗保险或需要帮助的注册,哈福德县保健部门的工作人员提供帮助。 联系人信息提供了在上述的链接。
  • 健康饮搜索: 找到最好的餐厅选择在你的区域。 只是把你拉链那你可以定制搜索的基础上你的饮食需求。 你可以选择你的卡路里数量、碳水化合物、钠和饱和脂肪的类型食品,价格甚至可以选择的地方为了健康的孩子们的饭菜。 距离总是默认为一个10英里半径范围,所以如果你在寻找的东西之外的10英里,只是改变设置。

有希望的做法

  • 项目的喜悦:运动,以促进心脏健康的生活方式之中的非洲裔美国妇女。 该程序使用现有的信仰社区教育教会成员的有关健康的活动相关的项目的喜悦。

 

Translated by Yandex.Translate and Global Translator

Healthy People in a Healthy Environment

Faith Communities Health Program

Healthy concept, Spirit, Body and Mind

The top three health issues identified by the majority of the congregations were: high blood pressure, obesity/ weight control (unhealthy eating/ no physical activity), and diabetes. The top three barriers the majority of the congregations reported that their parishioners face in achieving optimum health were: lack of knowledge, lack of motivation and support, and lack of time.

HCHD received about 144 pre-surveys between five of the congregations. Most respondents appeared to have good knowledge about nutrition and the benefits of physical activity, but only about a quarter were as physically active as they’d like and ate as healthy as they’d like.

Each congregation submitted action plans based on the data gained from health screenings they hosted, if applicable, and their needs assessments to choose appropriate programming for their congregation/faith-based organizations. For example, at Channel of Grace Worship Center in Edgewood, MD, there were at least five participants that were found to have very high blood pressure during the screening session.  As a result of this, the mini-grant implementation team brought in a nurse from University of MD Upper Chesapeake HealthLink to provide a learning session on high blood pressure and heart disease.

One screening session took place in July 2015. Although turnout was not as high as this congregation wanted, they were pleased with the information both themselves and their parishioners were able to gain from the screening. This did help them in planning their mini-grant programming. Examples of the activities focusing on nutrition and physical activities that were undertaken by the grantees are listed below.

Faith Grant 3Faith Grant 2

Participating Organizations 

Faith GrantThe Harford County Health Department is partnering with faith leaders to start a Faith Communities Health Program for supporting local congregations/faith-based organizations to promote improvement in health behaviors and outcomes in Harford County. Local congregations/faith-based organizations had an opportunity to apply for mini-grants for initiating and developing health ministries to improve nutrition, physical activity, and overall health of their communities. Funding is from the Maryland Cancer Fund of the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, which is designed to prevent cancer in the community by promoting healthy lifestyles.

The following organizations will be participating in the Faith Communities Health Program and received mini-grant funds to support their health improvement efforts. Click on the organizations names below to read a summary about each of their final projects.

Ames United Methodist Church

Saving the Sanctuary: The Increase of Health and Wellness Ministries

Ames United Methodist Church in Bel Air created a toolkit to guide churches in establishing health and wellness ministries for their congregations. To date, 3 of the 10 churches targeted have been presented with the Saving the Sanctuary Project and have begun to implement health and welfare ministries. Ames plans to sustain the Saving the Sanctuary Project by expanding the project to other churches providing initial presentations and helping develop health and welfare ministries. Churches will be followed, with periodic communication and assistance in addressing the challenges that any of the churches may face at any time.

Apostolic Voice of Truth

The “Whole” Family

Apostolic Voice of Truth in Edgewood hosted an informational series every Tuesday through July and August for families with activities such as exercise classes (Zumba and yoga), nutrition featuring food samples and activities for children, and a cancer prevention presentation.

Channel of Grace Worship Center

Health Matters: P=3 Pray, Praise, and be Prepared

Channel of Grace Worship Center in Edgewood hosted bi-weekly sessions including sessions on why your health matters, a nutrition seminar entitled “My Diet and Me”, a market tour of Food Lion, and a “Know Your Numbers” seminar with a nurse. In the spring of 2016, the center sponsored a work-out for a 5K walk for 6 weeks at the Y, followed by participation in the walk for the homeless on May 21, and a healthy eating presentation given the following day.

Extreme Family Outreach

The Transformation Station

Extreme Family Outreach, operating in 3 locations, conducted a 4-week program focusing on children starting healthy habits at a young age, focusing on simple changes to improve nutrition.

Inner County Outreach

Kid On The Go and Healthy Eating Program

Inner County Outreach in Aberdeen, MD hosted a Summer Day Camp for children in 2015 that included 7 weeks of activities including swimming and outdoor play time. The camp also had a vegetable garden. Children participated in planting and caring for the garden and ate the food from the garden.

 

Love Fellowship Christian Center

Get Fit Club

Love Fellowship Christian Center in Bel Air sponsored a number of activities:

  • Biggest Loser Contest Round I
  • Turkey Trot 5K Run/Walk
  • Community Health Fair – 1/16/16
  • April 30th Family Mile walk and 5K run at Oregon Ridge Park
  • Biggest Loser Session II
  • Saturday Family Fun Walks – Cedar Lane Park
  • Kids fitness challenge

St. James A.M.E. Church

F.A.N. – The Journey Continues

James Church continued their FAN (Faith, Activity, and Nutrition) Program by offering healthy food options at their annual church picnic and introducing more movement into weekly services. Following a Wednesday Bible Study a representative from the American Heart Association featured the Healthy Start Kitchen, which demonstrates ways to prepare heart-healthy meals. St. James also offered free 1-month Planet Fitness memberships to participants.

St. Margaret's Parish

Body, Mind, Spirit Seminars

St. Margaret’s hosted a 6-part “Taste of Health” series during February and March of 2016 to encourage physical, mental, and spiritual well-being of its members. An average of 190 members attended each week’s discussion and the topics included:

  • Exercise Flexibility & Balance
  • Nutrition: Healthy Food Substitutions
  • Meditation & Prayer
  • Emotional Health
  • Using Your Talents
  • SMART Goal Setting.

St. Paul's Lutheran Church

Living Healthy and Holy

Paul’s Lutheran Church in Aberdeen implemented the Living Holy and Healthy series, which is based around small groups discussing “The Daniel Plan”, with a weekly “snack and study”, a “Biggest Loser” contest, a walking club and free books, pedometers and other materials for participants along the way. This program was featured in an article in the Baltimore Sun (http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/maryland/harford/aberdeen-havre-de-grace/ph-ag-church-health-series-0106-20160107-story.html).

Word of Faith International Outreach

Families Fit for the Kingdom

Word of Faith in Aberdeen, MD-based a health program around the Faithful Families curriculum from North Carolina. They hosted sessions every Monday starting in October 2015 through November 2015. The sessions began with a 20-minute nutrition lesson (from purchasing to preparing) as well as nutritious food samples and then 30 minutes of exercise.

Meeting Materials

Evidence-Based Programs

  • Faith Activity Nutrition FANFaith, Activity, and Nutrition (FAN) Program: Program designed to increase healthy eating and physical activity among African Methodist Episcopal (AME) church members, but the information and tools can assist any denomination in promoting healthier behaviors and environment.  FAN aims to create a healthier church body, where the majority of members see and hear health messages that encourage healthy lifestyle choices.  The full online FAN Committee Training and FAN Cook Training are provided in both text and self-paced training modules.
  • Body & Soul: Health program developed for African American churches. The program encouraged church members to eat a healthy diet rich in fruits and vegetables every day for better Body and Soulhealth.  Body & Soul is built on four program pillars:
    • Pastor Involvement
    • Church Activities that Promote Healthy Eating
    • Church Environment that Promotes Healthy Eating
    • Peer Counseling that Motivates Church Members to Eat a Healthy Diet
  • Faithful FamiliesFaithful Families Eating Smart and Moving More: Promotes healthy eating and physical activity in communities of faith through the teaching of a 9-session curriculum co-taught by nutrition and physical education educators as well as lay leaders. Encourages implementation of research-based policies, programs, and environmental changes.
  • Community Health Resources Information Services (CHRIS): a Faith-based initiative that began with a concept to draw on the strong ties within the faith-based community to improve access to health information, particularly health issues disproportionately affecting minorities, and encourage healthy behaviors.

Health Ministry Resources

  • Parish Nursing: Provides information about Faith Community Nursing (formerly known as Parish Nursing) including available courses, resources, news and much more.
  • Church Health Reader: Published by the Church Health Center in Memphis, Tennessee, Church Health Reader encourages and equips people of faith to create and sustain Christian ministries of health, healing, and wholeness. All resources on this website are organized around the Model for Healthy Living.
    • Church Health’s Model for Healthy Living: A balanced life takes into consideration what is going on not just medically but in the areas of faith, movement, work, emotions, nutrition, and friends and family. These are the seven areas of the Model for Healthy Living.  More information is provided on this website about these seven areas.

Public Health Resources

  • Nutrition.gov: Provides easy, online access to vetted food and nutrition information from across the federal government. Serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.
  • CHOPCHOP Magazine: Offers nutritious, great-tasting, diverse and inexpensive recipes that encourage families to cook and eat together. Recipes are designed to teach basic cooking skills and develop a set of good meals you’ll know how to make.
  • Healthfinder.gov: Provides the latest, most reliable resources on a wide range of health topics selected from 1,400 government and non-profit organizations that will help you and those you care about stay healthy.
  • MillionHearts: Million Hearts is a national initiative that looks to focus, coordinate and enhance cardiovascular disease prevention activities. Some healthy eating resources provided on their website include heart-healthy recipes, easy meal plans, and inspiring articles that provide ideas for heart-healthier living.
  • Maryland Health Connection Medical Assistance:  This link provides you with information on medical insurance programs including the Maryland Children’s Health Program (MCHP), Maryland Children’s Health Premium Program, Medical Assistance for Families, and Medical Assistance for Adults.  If you have any questions about medical insurance or need help enrolling, the Harford County Health Department has staff available to help.  Contact information is provided in the above link.
  • Healthy Dining Finder: Find the best restaurant choices in your area.  Simply put in your ZIP then you can personalize your search based on your dietetic needs. You can choose your calorie amount, carbs, sodium, saturated fats, the type of cuisine, price and even choose places for healthy kids meals. The distance always defaults to a 10-mile radius, so if you’re looking for something outside of 10 miles, just change your settings.

Promising Practices

  • Project Joy: Campaign to promote a heart healthy lifestyle among African American women. The program uses existing faith communities to educate church members about health activities associated with Project Joy.