健康人在一个健康的环境

马里兰州卫生部发布2017年第一季度致命的过量数据

芬太尼有关的死亡人数显示增幅最大的

Baltimore,MD (八月4日2017年)的马里兰州卫生部今天发布的数据,以致命的过量,在第一季度2017年。 在此期间,其中包括一至三月2017年,有550过量有关的死亡中国家,包括372芬太尼相关的死亡。 该报告张贴在该部门的健康网站和网站可访问 在这里,中。

"芬太尼和合成药物继续要求生活的Marylanders,其中许多人是在不知不觉中消耗他们说,"卫生部长丹尼斯*施拉德的。 "我们恳求Marylanders谁正在努力解决与药物使用障碍,并正在采取的非法物质的寻求治疗。"

Marylanders可以找到治疗资源 MdDestinationRecovery的。org, BeforeItsTooLateMD的。org,国家危机热线, 1-800-422-0009中。

新的季度数据显示如何芬太尼,一种添加剂,往往是结合其他类阿片,继续推动这一祸患的过量死亡。 芬太尼和一个相关的添加剂,carfentanil,50和100倍更有力比海洛因,分别。 在2016年,健康发出一个警告,这样芬太尼的消耗量,后加入carfentanil的名单。 健康继续加强这一警告。

"数Marylanders受到这场危机继续推动我们的决心来管理这个流行病作为全州范围内的紧急情况,说:"土戳,执行主任的国家阿片类作战指挥中心。 "为了我们要取得成功,我们必须联合起来在这场斗争和坚定不移的坚持我们的承诺,与他人合作,努力防止、保护和对待那些需要的人。"

战斗的海洛因和阿片类流行病在马里兰州已经被一个高度优先的州长拉里*霍根的给药。 健康,在伙伴关系与其他国家机构,继续与联邦、州和地方合作伙伴,以尽量减少过量和已经被打击和应对增加用药过量死亡。

七月1日,2017,三个新的倡议,进一步打击鸦片的流行进入的影响:

  1. 马里兰州医疗补助政策改革的类鸦片处方开始生效在伙伴关系,与所有八个马里兰州医疗补助的HealthChoice提供者。 新的政策需要事先授权的所有高剂量的和长效阿片发给马里兰州医疗补助领取人。 该政策的变化是把实际减少阿片滥用的依赖性,服药过量而死在医疗补助费用的服务和HealthChoice管理的护理程序。
  1. 马里兰州 处方药物监测程序(血浆源医) 允许供应商和药剂师访问他们的病人的病历史上的这样的规定,控制危险物质(CDS)的规定,阿片类药物。 为1,2017,处方的CD和药剂师都需要登记的血浆源医的。 此外,开处方者需要有一些例外情况,以查询和审查他们的病人的血浆源医数据之前,最初规定的一个阿片类物质或苯并二氮杂和至少每90天,此后只要治疗过程中继续包括规定一个阿片类物质或苯并二氮杂的。 药剂师必须查询和审查病人的血浆源医数据分配之前的任何CD药物如果他们有理由相信一个病人是寻求药物对于任何目的以外的其他治疗的现有医疗条件。
  2. 马里兰州医疗补助计划的开始偿还对联邦政府资助的住宅区使用药物治疗。 马里兰是第三国国民给予豁免的联邦中心的医疗保险和医疗救助服务来提供这些服务与联邦医疗援助计划美元。 扩大、凝固在程序的联邦政府批准豁免,使供应商接受以前被拒绝的联邦医疗援助计划补偿的障碍,促成了阿片类危机在这里。 马里兰州医疗补助支持由马里兰州州长拉里*霍– 用于豁免(或例外) 从那联邦的限制,以便能够赢得治疗选择更多的Marylanders的。 IMD豁免扩展医疗补助费用偿还包括成人住宅的物质的使用的病症的治疗。 健康是逐步取消,在这种额外的服务,如住宅的物质的使用障碍的服务对怀孕妇女与儿童、与毒品暴露的新生儿,个人参与儿童福利系统和8-507法院下令治疗服务在一月2018;它将把一半的房屋月2019年。

除了这些新的倡议,卫生继续进行多管齐下的方法:

在七月至2017年的健康,阿片类物质的操作指挥中心,和总督办公室的犯罪控制和预防宣布多 22百万美元来打击海洛因和鸦片的流行病中。 百分之八十会去马里兰州的24个地方司法机构和服务提供者基金预防、执法以及治疗努力在整个国家。 健康获得了20百万美元赠款在21世纪的治疗法》,从美国国务院卫生和人类服务,通过给予物质的滥用和精神健康服务管理局(SAMHSA),以用于预防和治疗的阿片滥用在一个两年期。 该经费财政年度2018包括第一个10百万美元的长拉里*霍根50百万美元的承诺,以处理危机宣布了在三月2017年的第一个10百万美元从联邦21世纪的治疗方法的行为,和2.1百万美元来自总督办公室的犯罪控制和预防。

马里兰州有扩大接纳洛酮,拯救生命的药物,撤消阿片类药物过量. 在六月的1,2017,健康的公共健康副秘书长,霍华德博士柄,发出长期订单,允许药店免除纳洛酮的个人可能面临风险的过量或任何人可能能够帮助的人过量的。 这一行动被授权通过立法,签署了由总督霍根。 纳安全和有效地反转过量和具有一个低风险的不利影响。 这简化了以前的过程中,它可以被分配,只有那些经过培训和认证下在马里兰州过量的响应方案。 药房中发挥重要作用提供了访问纳洛酮和咨询在如何承认并响应阿片类药物过量. 芬太尼和carfentanil可能需要多剂量的纳洛酮给予帮助受害者过的那些物质。 

医疗补助计划的实施付款政策,为基于社区的药物协助治疗 (垫)–一个临床干预,结合使用药物和药物使用障碍的建议。 马里兰州医疗补助计划将提供一个重新捆绑的美沙酮偿还费率包括一个63美元,每周每患者包美沙酮维持和能力用于阿片类物质的处理程序(OTP)法案的门诊咨询单独,作为临床必要的。

马里兰州好撒马利亚人的法律 于2009年设立和修订了在2013和2015年。 的 好撒马利亚人的法律 保护人的协助在紧急过量的情况,从逮捕,以及从起诉某些犯罪行为。 它还保护个人违反条件的审前释放、缓刑或假释的如果证据表明违反了获得完全的结果作为一个人寻求、提供或协助与医疗有助于拯救生命。 在努力教育公众有关良好撒马利亚人的法律,健康已经建立了一个大使程序的代表开展倡导工作的社区达到了每个管辖权和教育利益攸关者有关法律。 标志是正在提供给所有地方保健部门、地方瘾当局、执法、法院、青少年中心和其他利益攸关者。

健康也是扩大获得 筛检、短暂干预和转诊治疗(SBIRT). SBIRT是一个以证据为基础的工具,用以识别的个人处于危险的物质的滥用和提供适当的干预。 它已经实现的成年患者中的22初级保健各地的七个司法管辖区在马里兰州(巴尔的摩城市,巴尔的摩县,乔治王子的县,蒙哥马利县卡罗尔县,安妮阿伦德尔县和哈福德郡). 健康是实现SBIRT在紧急情况部门的三个巴尔的摩的区域赁医院(良好撒马利亚人、富兰克林方和联盟纪念). 目标的这个五年期项目进行的90 000放映;超过81,000患者已经进行筛选。

因为人死于过量经常具有历史的住院治疗为过量使用非致命性的,该部也已着手进行干预Marylanders'生命之后,他们生存的过量。 的 过量幸存者的外展计划 是的一项倡议,以改善健康结果对于过量幸存者或那些在风险过量通过合作与医院和地方保健部门以促进干预措施,通过同侪恢复专家在紧急情况部门。 如果患者有过量,或是在风险过量,等会的工作与病人协助他们参加治疗或支持服务。 如果她或他不感兴趣的治疗,同侪将获得同意引他们到一个对等的外联,在地方保健部门,他们会联系他们通过电话或领域调用一天或两天之后呈现在急诊科,并将定期检查在评估他们的需要和意愿进行治疗。 截至2016年,四家医院在巴尔的摩城市和两个在安妮*阿伦德尔县正在参与的程序,计划扩大后的排放外展服务,对于多种其他医院在未来几个月内。

Marylanders谁需要帮助找到物有关的病症的治疗的资源,应该访问 MdDestinationRecovery的。org 或者叫马里兰州的危机热线,提供24/7支持, 1-800-422-0009中。 对信息在许多政策目前正在实施打击的物质相关的障碍和过量在马里兰州,请参阅 http://咕。gl/KvEzQw中。 如果你知道谁可以使用的治疗药物有关的病症的治疗设施可能位于的位置和程序特征,在我们的网页 http://咕。gl/rbGF6S中。

###

Translated by Yandex.Translate and Global Translator

Healthy People in a Healthy Environment

Maryland Department of Health releases 2017 first quarter fatal overdose data

Fentanyl-related deaths shows largest increase

Baltimore, MD (August 4, 2017) – The Maryland Department of Health today released data for fatal overdoses in the first quarter of 2017. During this period, which encompasses January to March of 2017, there were 550 overdose-related deaths in the state, including 372 fentanyl-related deaths. The report is posted on the Department of Health website and can be accessed here.

“Fentanyl and synthetic drugs continue to claim the lives of Marylanders, many of whom are unknowingly consuming them,” said Health Secretary Dennis Schrader. “We implore Marylanders who are grappling with substance use disorder and are taking illicit substances to seek treatment immediately.”

Marylanders can find treatment resources at MdDestinationRecovery.org, BeforeItsTooLateMD.org, and the state crisis hotline, 1-800-422-0009.

The new quarterly data show how fentanyl, an additive that is often combined with other opioids, continues to drive the scourge of overdose deaths. Fentanyl and a related additive, carfentanil, are 50 and 100 times more potent than heroin, respectively. In 2016, Health issued a warning about such fentanyl consumption, later adding carfentanil to the list. Health continues to reinforce that warning.

“The number of Marylanders impacted by this crisis continues to drive our resolve to manage this epidemic as a statewide emergency,” said Clay Stamp, executive director of the state’s Opioid Operational Command Center. “In order for us to be successful, we must be united in this fight and steadfast in our commitment to partner with others in efforts to prevent, protect, and treat those in need.”

Fighting the heroin and opioid epidemic in Maryland has been a top priority of Governor Larry Hogan’s administration. Health, in partnership with other state agencies, continues to collaborate with federal, state, and local partners to try to reduce the number of overdoses and has been combating and responding to the increase in overdose deaths.

On July 1, 2017, three new initiatives to further combat the opioid epidemic went into effect:

  1. Maryland Medicaid policies reforming the opioid-prescribing process went into effect, in partnership with all eight of Maryland Medicaid’s HealthChoice providers. The new policy requires prior authorization for all high-dose and long-acting opioids issued to Maryland Medicaid recipients. The policy changes were put in effect to reduce opioid misuse, dependence, overdose and death in both Medicaid fee-for-service and HealthChoice managed care programs.
  1. Maryland’s Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) allows providers and pharmacists access to their patients’ history of such prescribed controlled dangerous substances (CDS) as prescribed opioids. As of July 1, 2017, prescribers of CDS and pharmacists are required to register with the PDMP. In addition, prescribers are required, with some exceptions, to query and review their patient’s PDMP data prior to initially prescribing an opioid or benzodiazepine and at least every 90 days thereafter as long as the course of treatment continues to include prescribing an opioid or benzodiazepine. Pharmacists must query and review patient PDMP data prior to dispensing any CDS drug if they have a reasonable belief that a patient is seeking the drug for any purpose other than the treatment of an existing medical condition.
  2. Maryland Medicaid began reimbursement for federally funded residential substance use treatment. Maryland was the third state in the nation to be granted a waiver from the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to provide these services with federal Medicaid dollars. The expansion, solidified in the program’s federally approved waiver, enables providers to receive previously denied federal Medicaid reimbursement, an obstacle that contributed to the opioid crisis here. Maryland Medicaid – backed by Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan – applied for a waiver (or an exception) from that federal restriction, to be able to win treatment options for more Marylanders. The IMD Waiver expands Medicaid reimbursement to include adult residential substance use disorder treatment. Health is phasing in such additional services as residential substance-use disorder services for pregnant women with children, drug-exposed newborns, individuals involved with the child welfare system and 8-507 court ordered treatment services in January 2018; it will incorporate halfway houses in January 2019.

In addition to these new initiatives, Health continues to conduct a multi-pronged approach:

In July 2017, Health, the Opioid Operation Command Center, and the Governor’s Office of Crime Control & Prevention announced more than $22 million to fight the heroin and opioid epidemic. Eighty percent will go to Maryland’s 24 local jurisdictions and service providers to fund prevention, enforcement, and treatment efforts throughout the state. Health was awarded a $20 million grant under the 21st Century Cures Act from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, administered by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), to be used for the prevention and treatment of opioid abuse over a two-year period. The funding for Fiscal Year 2018 includes the first $10 million of Governor Larry Hogan’s $50 million commitment to address the crisis announced in March 2017, the first $10 million from the federal 21st Century Cures Act, and $2.1 million from the Governor’s Office of Crime Control & Prevention.

Maryland has expanded access to naloxone, a life-saving drug that reverses opioid drug overdoses. On June 1, 2017, Health’s Public Health deputy secretary, Dr. Howard Haft, issued a standing order that allows pharmacies to dispense naloxone to individuals who may be at risk of an overdose or anyone who may be able to help someone who overdoses. This action is authorized through legislation signed by Governor Hogan. Naloxone safely and effectively reverses an overdose and has a low risk for adverse effects. This simplifies the previous process where it could be dispensed only to those trained and certified under the Maryland Overdose Response Program. Pharmacies play an important role in providing access to naloxone and counseling on how to recognize and respond to an opioid overdose. Fentanyl and carfentanil may require multiple doses of naloxone to be administered to help victims overdosing on those substances. 

Medicaid implemented a payment policy for community-based Medication Assisted Treatment (MAT) – a clinical intervention that combines the use of medications and substance use disorder counseling. Maryland Medicaid will provide a re-bundled methadone reimbursement rate to include a $63 per-week-per-patient bundle for methadone maintenance, and the ability for Opioid Treatment Programs (OTP) to bill for outpatient counseling separately, as clinically necessary.

The Maryland Good Samaritan Law  was established in 2009 and amended in 2013 and 2015. The Good Samaritan Law protects people assisting in an emergency overdose situation from arrest, as well as from prosecution in certain crimes. It also protects a person from violation of a condition of pretrial release, probation or parole if the evidence of the violation was obtained solely as a result of a person seeking, providing or assisting with medical help to save a life. In an effort to educate the public about the Good Samaritan Law, Health has established an ambassador program with representatives from the advocacy community to reach out to each jurisdiction and to educate stakeholders about the law. Signage is being made available to all local health departments, local addiction authorities, law enforcement, courts, juvenile centers and other stakeholders.

Health is also expanding access to Screening, Brief Intervention and Referral to Treatment (SBIRT). SBIRT is an evidence-based tool designed to identify individuals who are at risk of substance abuse and to provide appropriate intervention. It has been implemented for adult patients in 22 primary care locations throughout seven jurisdictions in Maryland (Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Prince George’s County, Montgomery County, Carroll County, Anne Arundel County and Harford County). Health is implementing SBIRT in the emergency departments of three Baltimore-region MedStar hospitals (Good Samaritan, Franklin Square and Union Memorial). The goal of this five-year project is to conduct 90,000 screenings; more than 81,000 patients have been screened.

Because people who die from overdoses often have histories of hospitalization for nonfatal overdoses, the department also has been working to intervene in Marylanders’ lives after they survive an overdose. The Overdose Survivors Outreach Program is an initiative to improve health outcomes for overdose survivors or those at risk for overdose by collaborating with hospitals and local health departments to facilitate interventions by Peer Recovery Specialists in the emergency department. If a patient has overdosed, or is at risk for overdose, the peer will work with the patient to assist them in enrolling in treatment or support services. If she or he is not interested in treatment, the peer will obtain consent to refer them to an outreach peer at the local health department, who will contact them via phone or field call a day or two after presenting in the emergency department, and will periodically check in to assess their needs and willingness to enter treatment. As of December 2016, four hospitals in Baltimore City and two in Anne Arundel County are participating in the program, with plans to expand post-discharge outreach services for multiple other hospitals in the coming months.

Marylanders who need help finding substance related disorder treatment resources should visit MdDestinationRecovery.org or call the Maryland Crisis Hotline, which provides 24/7 support, at 1-800-422-0009. For information on many of the policies currently implemented to fight substance related disorders and overdose in Maryland, see http://goo.gl/KvEzQw. If you know of someone who could use treatment for substance related disorders treatment facilities can be located by location and program characteristics on our page at http://goo.gl/rbGF6S.

###